close_project - 2024.1 English

Vivado Design Suite Tcl Command Reference Guide (UG835)

Document ID
UG835
Release Date
2024-05-30
Version
2024.1 English

Close current opened project

Syntax

close_project [‑delete] [‑quiet] [‑verbose]

Usage

Name Description
[-delete] Delete the project from disk also
[-quiet] Ignore command errors
[-verbose] Suspend message limits during command execution

Categories

Project

Description

Closes the current open project.

Tip: Any user-defined Tcl variables that are in the global namespace (that is, not in a project-specific namespace) are not reset or cleared by this command. Global variables are persistent with the invocation of AMD Vivado™ and are only cleared when the AMD Vivado™ Design Suite is closed. You can also use the unset command to expressly clear a specific Tcl variable.

Arguments

-delete - (Optional) Delete the project data from the hard disk after closing the project.

Note: Use this argument with caution. You will not be prompted to confirm the deletion of project data.
-quiet - (Optional) Execute the command quietly, returning no messages from the command. The command also returns TCL_OK regardless of any errors encountered during execution.
Note: Any errors encountered on the command-line, while launching the command, will be returned. Only errors occurring inside the command will be trapped.
-verbose - (Optional) Temporarily override any message limits and return all messages from this command.
Note: Message limits can be defined with the set_msg_config command.

Examples

The following command closes the active project:

close_project
This example closes the current project. If you have multiple projects open, the close_project command applies to the current project which can be defined with the current_project command.

The following example sets project_1 as the current project, and then closes the project and deletes it from the computer hard disk:

current_project project_1
close_project -delete
Note: Use the -delete argument with caution. You will not be prompted to confirm the deletion of project data.

See Also