Saving a Block Design with a New Name - 2023.2 English

Vivado Design Suite User Guide: Designing IP Subsystems Using IP Integrator (UG994)

Document ID
UG994
Release Date
2023-10-18
Version
2023.2 English

You might want to save a block design with a new name to add into another project or to create another copy of an existing block design to be added to the same project.

  1. Select File > Save Block Design As.
  2. Open the block design to save.
  3. Decide where to save the block design. There are two options:
    • Create a copy of the block design and add it to the project sources. The default option for Directory is <Local to Project>.

      With this option selected, the block design is added to the project sources. The source set option can be set to Design Sources or Simulation Sources.



    • Save the block design to a remote location.

      The Choose Location dialog box opens.



      After you select the desired location, the Save Block Design as dialog box looks as follows:



      Other options are exactly the same as saving the block design in the local project. The Include Comments option preserves the comments in the original block design. When the block design is saved locally, a copy of the block design appears in the sources directory as shown below.



    Note: The block design is copied local to the project, as can be seen in the Properties window.

    When the block design is saved in a remote location (outside of the project), the newly-saved block design is added to the current project. The block design sources are saved in the remote location, and then referred to from the remote location where the block design exists, as can be seen in the Properties window, shown in the following figure.