DMA Model

Zynq UltraScale+ Device Technical Reference Manual (UG1085)

Document ID
Release Date
2.4 English

The LPD and FPD DMA controllers each have eight DMA channels. Each channel is divided into two functional sides (in simple DMA mode) or two queues (in scatter-gather DMA mode), source (read) and destination (write).

The schematic in This Figure illustrates the source and destination side scatter-gather mode buffer descriptor arrays. The buffer descriptors point to their respective buffers. The DMA facilitates transfer of data from source (SRC) buffers to destination (DST) buffers. A source side descriptor can go to multiple destination side descriptors.

Figure 19-2:      SRC and DST Descriptors Pointing to Data Buffers

X-Ref Target - Figure 19-2