Interrupt Functionality

Versal Adaptive SoC Technical Reference Manual (AM011)

Document ID
Release Date
1.6 English

The interrupt architecture includes ten sets of registers with six registers per set. Each set is divided between sending an interrupt (TRIG and OBS) and receiving an interrupt (ISR, IMR, IER, and IDR); refer to Agent Interrupt Registers. Access to each set of interrupt registers is isolated to an agent by apertures in the LPD_XPPU protection unit followed by security screening by TrustZone apertures in the IPI (e.g., the IPI.TZ_APER_PSM register).

To send an interrupt, the source agent writes a 1 to the bit in its trigger register that corresponds to the desired destination agent processor. This causes the destination status register, ISR, bit to be set and generates a corresponding system interrupt. The source agent can observe the state of the interrupts that it has triggered to the destination agents using its observation register (OBS). The registers and signal routes are shown in the following figure.

Figure 1. Source-Destination Interrupt Functions

System Interrupt Registers

Software must program the system interrupt registers associated with the destination processor to enable the interrupt to propagate to the desired destination agent processor. This is one of the system interrupt controller registers (e.g., PMC_GLOBAL.GICP0_IRQ_MASK). All system interrupts are also routed directly to the PL. Refer to the System Interrupts chapter for the list of system interrupts. The destination agent processes interrupts in a normal manner; it can mask and clear its status register to control the system interrupt.

Observation Register

The read-only observation register, example PMC_OBS , allows the PMC source agent to determine if an interrupt has been cleared by the destination.