Boot Levels for Prebuilt Option - 2020.2 English

PetaLinux Tools Documentation Reference Guide (UG1144)

Document ID
Release Date
2020.2 English

--prebuilt <BOOT_LEVEL> boots prebuilt images (override all settings). Supported boot levels are 1 to 3. The command for JTAG boot:

petalinux-boot --jtag --prebuilt <BOOT_LEVEL> --hw_server-url <hostname:3121>

The command for the QEMU boot is as follows:

petalinux-boot --qemu --prebuilt <BOOT_LEVEL>
Note: The QEMU boot does not support BOOT_LEVEL 1.
  • Level 1: Download the prebuilt FPGA bitstream.
    • It boots FSBL and PMU firmware for Zynq® UltraScale+™ MPSoC.
    • It boots FSBL for Zynq-7000 devices.
  • Level 2: Download the prebuilt FPGA bitstream and boot the prebuilt U-Boot.
    • For Zynq-7000 devices: It boots FSBL before booting U-Boot.
    • For Zynq UltraScale+ MPSoC: It boots PMU firmware, FSBL, and ATF before booting U-Boot.
  • Level 3:
    • For MicroBlaze™ processors: Downloads the prebuilt FPGA bitstream and boots the prebuilt kernel image on target.
    • For Zynq-7000 devices: Downloads the prebuilt FPGA bitstream and FSBL, boots the prebuilt U-Boot, and boots the prebuilt kernel on target.
    • For Zynq UltraScale+ MPSoC: Downloads PMU firmware, prebuilt FSBL, prebuilt kernel, prebuilt FPGA bitstream, linux-boot.elf, DTB, and the prebuilt ATF on target.

Example to show the usage of boot level for prebuilt option:

$ petalinux-boot --jtag --prebuilt 3